Your honest lies

You made me happy, happier than I knew I could be.

For once my smile wasn’t imaginary.

Your kiss was violent – caught me skin deep.

Lying awake at night, counting sheep.

 

You assured me that I shouldn’t be scared

and somehow I even thought that you cared.

I told you all the things I use to ignore.

I learned from my mistakes, won’t trust anyone anymore.

 

The cold feels overpowering this time.

My insecurities – eating me from inside.

The clock is ticking, but why is time standing still?

You said you won’t, but somehow I know you will.

 

It’s not what I want, not at all.

You’re building me up just to make me fall.

I guess I am just as guilty as you,

so just do what you have to do.

 

You keep telling me over and over – you haven’t missed a day,

but then why is it so easy for you to just go away?

I’m standing alone under this curséd night sky,

waiting, while the shadows are lurking by.

 

If that’s what you want, I won’t stand in your way.

All I need is to hear the truth, today,

because honesty is better than a thousand lies…

suddenly I see all I have missed in your eyes.

 

Do you like seeing me as I am now?

Trying to get up, but I’m not sure I know how.

I knew it would happen, why did I pretend?

Watching as you leave me for my best friend…

Leave a Reply

